Parliament starts the Third Ordinary Session of the year 2019/20

|   Chamber Of Deputies

On this Friday, June 5, 2020, the Parliament has opened its third ordinary session of the year 2019/20.  As per the provisions of Article 72 of the Constitution of Republic of Rwanda, each chamber of both Houses of Parliament holds ordinary and extraordinary sessions. Ordinary sessions start and close on the same dates and they last the same period of time.

Officially opening this session, President of the Senate, Rt. Hon. Dr Iyamuremye Augustin reiterated the activities that marked the ended second ordinary session and the subsequent extraordinary sessions in which the Senate voted on organic law establishing general provisions governing public institutions. He added that other functions of the Senate continued in its organs through the use of technology due to these tough times to fight against the spread of COVID-19.

The agenda of this third session will feature among other items, monitoring the application of fundamental principles referred to under Articles 10, 56 and 57 of the Constitution; approval of nominations of state officials; passing bills; oversight of Government activities; holding consultative meetings; approval of different parliamentary reports and conducting outreach activities to the citizens. 

In the Chamber of Deputies, the session was officially opened by Speaker Mukabalisa Donatille, who first and foremost expressed gratitude to Members for having accommodated working under special conditions because of the effects of the COVID-19 pandemic and for their participation in the extraordinary sessions they were called in for the urgent work that would not wait for the ordinary session to begin.

Rt. Hon. Mukabalisa went on revealing that in this Session the Chamber of Deputies will approve the relevance of the different draft laws, pass bills to be tabled by standing committees and that the House will hold consultative meetings and workshops.

The Plenary Assembly also approved the opinions of the Parliament on the 2020/2021 Budget Framework Paper and the Medium Term Expenditure Framework 2020/21-2022/23.

The House elected as well, the Chairperson of the Land, Agriculture, Livestock and Environment Committee and the Chairperson of the Public Accounts Committee. Hon. Nyirahirwa Veneranda is the new Chairperson of the Land, Agriculture, Livestock and Environment Committee, while Hon. Muhakwa Valens is the new Chairperson of Public Accounts Committee. Hon. Mukabalisa Germaine is elected Deputy Chairperson of the Land, Agriculture, Animal Husbandry and Environment Committee.