Minister of Finance updates MPs on the situation of the national economy

On November 23, 2020, the Minister of Finance and Economic Planning Dr Uzziel Ndagijimana, presented to the plenary sitting of the Chamber of...

Senate approves appointment of the Ombudsman among other officials

The Senate Plenary Assembly in its sitting of 19 November 2020 as chaired by the Rt. Hon. Dr. Augustin IYAMUREMYE, Senate President, considered and...

Deputies hold training on functioning of the Chamber of Deputies


From this 9 to 12 November 2020, Deputies are being trained to better fulfil their mandates of legislation and oversight of the Government action.


Deputies to visit local communities countrywide: response strategies against COVID-19 being in focus

From 2 to 8 November 2020, Deputies will be conducting field visits around the country within the framework of oversight of Government activities in...

Senate News

President Kagame receives oaths of six new senators

|   Senate

On October 22, 2020, at the Parliament of Rwanda, President Paul Kagame presided over the swearing-in ceremony of six new senators, one year after other senators took office. 

The new members of the Senate of Rwanda include four Senators that were appointed by the President: Hon. Jean-Pierre Dusingizemungu, Hon. Epiphanie Kanziza, Hon. André Twahirwa, and Hon. Evode Uwizeyimana; and two others who were elected through the Consultative Forum for Political Parties in Rwanda: Hon. Alexis Mugisha and Hon. Clotilde Mukakarangwa. 

In his address, President Kagame said that the new senators bring new energy to the parliament. “These new senators were selected from us, Rwandans, and represent Rwandans from all walks of life. We want all Rwandans, irrespective of their origins and beliefs, to have a voice.” He said. 

“They bring to the Senate new blood, experience, and diverse skills to help move forward our journey of rebuilding this country at the right pace.” He added. 

Senators who took oaths today replaced Hon. Prof. Karangwa Chrysologue, Hon. Kalimba Zephyrin, Hon. Uwimana Consolée, Hon. Nyagahura Marguerite, Hon. Uyisenga Charles and Hon. Mukakalisa Jeanne D'Arc who successfully completed their term of office.

As provided for, in article 8 of the Organic Law determining the functioning of the Senate, before taking office, a Senator takes oath as provided for by the Constitution of the Republic of Rwanda of 2003 revised in 2015 before the President of the Republic, and in case of his/her absence, before the President of the Supreme Court.