PRESS RELEASE: Senate to conduct a campaign on its Genocide denial research findings

Senate to conduct a campaign to disseminate in universities and higher learning institutions, the findings of the research into and strategies to...

US Ambassador to Rwanda paid a courtesy call on the President of the Senate

On Tuesday, 14 January 2020, the President of the Senate Right Hon. Augustin Iyamuremye received H.E Peter H. Vrooman, the United States Ambassador to...

MPs to resume outreach activities dedicated to infrastructure development

After a successful field visit in Eastern Province and the City of Kigali, on 7th January 2020, Members of Parliament/Chamber of Deputies will...

Senate urges enhancement in fighting against genocide denial

On this 18th December 2019, Senators held a meeting on the results of the research conducted on the situation of the denial and revisionism of the...

Senate News

Senate: Handover between outgoing and incoming Presidents

|   Senate

One day after Rt. Hon. Dr. Augustin Iyamuremye was sworn in as new Senate President, a handover ceremony between himself and the outgoing President of the Senate, Rt. Hon. Bernard Makuza was held in Senate building on 18 October 2019 in the presence of incoming Vice-Presidents Hon. Nyirasafari Espérance and Hon. Dr. Alvera Mukabaramba. Present were also both outgoing Vice-Presidents Hon. Gakuba Jeanne D’Arc and Hon. Harelimana Fatou alongside the Clerk of the Senate, Mr. Sosthène Cyitatire.

During the ceremony, Rt. Hon. Makuza gave a detailed structure and responsibilities of the Senate and presented key achievements of the Second Senate, focusing on how the Senate discharged its particular responsibilities for monitoring the application of fundamental principles specified in Article 10 of the Constitution of the Republic of Rwanda and the responsibilities provided for in Article 56 and 57 of the same constitution.

The new Senate President commended the outgoing team for outstanding achievements which according to him, will serve as baseline for the work of the Third Senate to make sure its activities bring a significant contribution to the national socioeconomic transformation.

The Third Senate is composed of 26 members serving a five-year term. Apart from legislative and oversight duties shared by the Chamber of Deputies, the Senate has particular responsibilities for monitoring the application of fundamental principles, monitoring the functioning of political organizations and approving the appointment of some high government officials.