The Parliament exercises the legislative power jointly with the government.

The right to introduce bills belongs to the Government and members of Chamber of Deputies. Bills introduced by the Government or Deputies are reproduced and distributed to members of parliament in a plenary sitting.

After adoption of their appropriateness, a report is made which is attached to the bill and handled to the appropriate committee for a deeper examination. In case the bill is judged inadequate, it is returned to its author.

In committees, any member of Parliament is allowed to give amendments or sub amendments or more articles. These are voted together with the original text.

After the study of the bill, the committee makes a report to be submitted to the plenary sitting.
The plenary session vote article by article and adopts the law through a nominative vote. Amendments are not allowed in the plenary session.

The voted law is submitted to the Chamber of Senate, if it is in its competences, or to the Government for promulgation and publication.

In the event that the Senate does not approve a bill transmitted to it or amendments proposed by the Senate are not acceptable to the Chamber of Deputies, both Chambers set up a commission compose of an equal number of Deputies and Senators which make proposals on matters still being debated.

Both Chambers are notified by the commission of the compromise reaced and the Chambers decide on it.
In the event that the compromise decision is not adopted by both Chambers, the bill is returned to the initiator.

Each law comes into force the date of its promulgation and published in the Official Gazette of the Republic of Rwanda.